You Win Some, You Lose Some: Justin Barcia Takes the Lead At Monster Energy Supercross

Posted On : 09-02-2018

Round 5, hosted in front of a crowd of 48, 146 fans in the Oakland Alameda County Coliseum saw the up-and-down snake and ladder game that happened in February 3. From Eli Tomac’s lead to Jason Anderson’s domination of the current round, the odds continue to slip in and out of the riders’ hands as they fight to win the Monster Energy Supercross.

(Image: Monster Energy Supercross)


It was a toss-up between Jason Anderson from Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Team and Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen. The two battled it out on the last lap, in which Anderson beat out Roczen with less than a second ahead.

“This was a big night for me,” Anderson said on the podium. “I didn’t start off too well … that’s one of the best races of my life. I just want to keep it going. Everyone’s getting good. I’m excited to be up here.”

(Image: Kawasaki)


Last week’s winner, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, lined up in the No. 3 spot at the gate. After a slow start, however, he moved down to seventh place for the first two laps before dropping to eighth in the fourth lap. When Justin Barcia made a tight inside pass, Tomac went down to the 20th place in the eight lap. He climbed back to 15th by Lap 17 and finished 13th in the 24-lap race.

Anderson now leads the series standings with 115 points. Roczen moved into second place overall, with 100 points. After finishing fifth on Saturday, Barcia fell to third place with 98 points.

Tomac dropped two spots in the standings, to 12th place, and has 63 points this season. He’s now 52 points off series-leading, Anderson, or an average of 4.333 points per round. In an up-and-down start to the season, Tomac crashed out of his first race, did not start the second, won the next two, then finished 13th.

The 450SX Class Results are as follows:

  1. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna
  2. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Honda
  3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrance, Calif., KTM
  4. Marvin Musquin, Clermont, Fla., KTM
  5. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha
  6. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda
  7. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
  8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., KTM
  9. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., Honda
  10. Joshua Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
COE Results
Rd 1, 09 Jan 2019
COE Bidding of Motorcycles